No first round draft picks for the next three years

Discussion in 'New England Black Wolves Forum' started by TofuBomb, Aug 10, 2018.

1. TofuBomb

TofuBomb Guest

I'm just getting into the NLL, and noticed the Black Wolves have traded away their first round picks for the coming years. What's the general consensus among fans about these trades? Are they evidence of mismanagement or were they smart decisions?

2. chuckster

chuckster Well-Known Member

It depends on what they got back. The Wolves gave up Tyler Digby and this year's and next year's 1st rounders to get Shawn Evans. Evans is now in Buffalo and the return was Callum Crawford who is not worth two 1st rounders, IMO.

The Wolves gave up their 1st rounder in 2020 to get the 7th overall pick in the 2017 draft from Georgia and that pick became Colton Watkinson who was in the conversation for Rookie of the Year. It will depend what Georgia does with that pick in 2 years and what the 2020 draft looks like with maybe 3 more expansion teams.

It's hard to part with 1st rounders and it can have ramifications, especially when a team goes bad like the Vancouver Stealth. Even when you trade them 2 or 3 years out, it can come back to bite you. I bet the Stealth would have loved the 3rd overall pick in this year's draft, especially if Austin Staats comes in.

The Bandits traded away 4 total 1st rounders in separate deals to get Ryan Benesch and Anthony Cosmo. They made the finals in 2016 but Benesch went to Colorado for Crawford who was then flipped for Evans. Cosmo retired.

3. TofuBomb

TofuBomb Guest

In the NBA, I don't think you're even allowed to trade away consecutive first rounders, because it can be so damaging. So I was definitely skeptical when I saw the Wolves had traded away three years worth. But I guess, with fewer teams the difference between first and second round draft picks isn't as stark as it is in other leagues.

4. Mr Boo

Mr Boo Well-Known Member